top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarol Delmornay

Good Morning / Update

Good morning from the bloody cold Goldfields of Western Australia.


It's been a while again. Sorry about that. I'll get my act together and try to post something at least once a day.


Hubby and I have returned from the city after meeting our newest arrival, Billie (Li'l Munchkin), and spending a few days with him and his big brother, Laike (Li'l Bean), and our son and daughter-in-law.


Both boys gave Grandma a baptism of fire. 3 shitty nappies in a row from Billie. The first one, our son followed me in to show me where everything is kept - nappies, wipes, etc.


Kyle: "He might wee on you, Mum."


I raised one brow, looked up at him, and grinned.


Me: "I've had 2 boys. I know. My hand is ready to block the stream, so I don't get covered." (And yes, I have to look up at all my kids! Including our daughter because I'm a short-ass at 5'6").


Then Laike needed Grandma to go to the toilet so she could wipe his bum after a poop. Ahh - the memories ... 😂 But I was in my element helping with the 2 grandbabies while we were there.


Hubby and I are absolutely amazed watching Laike. It's like our eldest son growing up all over again. Same mannerisms and everything. We just couldn't take our eyes off of him while he was playing and talking.


We got to see ALL of our kids this visit. Stayed with our youngest son for 2 nights before we moved on to our eldest son and daughter-in-law's. God, we love those 2 grandkids so much. When we had to leave, I began crying before we even left their street! Tears were still falling when we reached Northam (94 km's in distance). God, I'm hopeless.


Our daughter even came out to visit for a little while before she had an appointment. Unfortunately, she doesn't want me to post any photos of her on my social media, so I'll respect that, but I will be posting some baby Munchkin photos, some of big brother Bean, and of our youngest son (along with some of the beachfront where our eldest son and daughter-in-law took us for breakfast).


There are also a few photos of the house our eldest son and daughter-in-law are building. They're having some real hassles with workmanship on their house - they have an independent building inspector who picked up pages and pages of things that need fixing - and it's only the brickwork that has almost been done. But they (the company they're building through) told our son they're going to fix everything that is in the report, so fingers crossed they get a move on. Our son and daughter-in-law have been waiting long enough to get their house built. Shortage of tradies in our state (as with other states), so things are taking a long time to even get started.


Since hubby and I have been home, we've been sick. And I mean really sick. We don't have Covid - that's the first thing I thought so more than one RAT has been done for both of us - all negative - and we even spent almost 8 hours at the hospital in the next town (don't have one where we live - don't have much of anything where we live!).


As it turns out, I just have a bad case of the flu (that they won't give antibiotics for because you've just got to "ride it out"), and hubby has pneumonia in one lung, so he has strong antibiotics to take for 5 days. We still got really sick after having this year's flu shot, along with the 5th Covid booster. Fat lot of good the flu shot did us.


We both still feel like shit - for me, it's been 10/11 days, for hubby it's been about 6 days. And coughing ... omg, my throat is so damn sore. Then I have to deal with the headache from coughing so much. It better not linger too much longer. I'm over it.


Trying to sleep is difficult - getting all blocked up so many times, wakes you up, so I've not had much sleep over the past 10/11 days. Sleeping elevated in bed trying not to be woken by not being able to breathe was beginning to affect my sciatica, too. Either way deprives me of much needed sleep, so I've been napping a lot during the day - trying to catch another hour or two of sleep when I do. Still feel like a zombie, though, to be honest.


I have some writing to catch up on. There are 4 books I need to write - but one of them is a book for our Li'l Bean - he's going to go on lots of adventures and meet many animals. I'm hoping to finish at least that one. The other 3 are the 2 remaining books for the Shattered Series and 1 for Lucifer's Playground Series. Don't know if any of those will be ready for release before the year is finished, though.


Well, I have to get my ass into gear and begin writing - these books aren't going to write themselves! Hope you are all safe and well, and enjoy the rest of your morning, afternoon, evening, or night.




14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page